Angel Di Maria has joined Manchester United in a deal worth approximately 75 Million Euros. So, here is a short open letter to the Argentinean midfielder in which I say what has been going through my mind during this whole chaotic transfer saga.

DI MARIA

Dear Angel Di Maria,

I would personally like to start this off with a massive Thank You. I want to thank you for being such an integral part of our 2013/2014 squad. You were given the confidence by Mr. Carlo Ancelotti and you did not let him down. Thank you for helping us win La Decima, the UEFA Champions League trophy that we have been waiting 12 years for. When we weren’t able to make it through a very sturdy defense, you came in and found a way through in order to help us win games and I thank you for that as well. Thank you for all your help and thank you for being a true Real Madrid player until the very last second.

But, with all the “thank you’s”, I ask you this: Why did you choose to leave? You wanted a new contract and you got it. Yes, it wasn’t worth as much as you would have hoped, but it was still generous of Mr. Fiorentino Perez to offer you a contract even after you signed one only a year ago, isn’t it? Was it the competition? I doubt that it was, mainly because you know your capabilities and you know that you could do very well in a Real Madrid team full of stars. You were one of the stars as well.

With all of you inconsistent performances, you were picked to stay over Mesut Ozil last summer. That in itself should show you that you were very important to Mr. Carlo Ancelotti. The fans have never hidden their love and admiration for you during the last season and you were one of the most appreciated players. You were arguably the most important player in our team last year. Think about that: In a list full of players such as Cristiano Ronaldo, Gareth Bale, Luka Modric, and Xabi Alonso, you were the most important.

When I believed that you have become a true Real Madrid player, you have honestly let me down. You were not picked to leave but rather you chose to leave. I have said this for years and I will say it again: If a player wants to leave, they should leave. So, since you have chosen to find another club, I say goodbye with no regrets. You chose not to be one of us anymore and I honestly hope that you have made the correct choice. Only time will tell whether you leaving Real Madrid is the right decision and therefore we can tackle this subject at a later time. You made a decision and you stuck to it and I congratulate you for joining Manchester United.

With all that said, there is no more talking now that would make you stay. There are no words or actions to reverse your decision to leave Real Madrid and La Liga in order to join Manchester United. You have joined one of the biggest teams in the world, no doubt, and I personally wish that you succeed there. I hope that you are appreciated and loved because you deserve it. I hope that you keep up your recent performances and show the Red Devils and their fans that they had a right to be excited for your arrival to England.

So, for the last time, thank you and goodbye Angel Di Maria. You will be missed. Good luck in Manchester United.

Sincerely,

RMadrid37

