Real Madrid will make their debut in the Club World Cup in a couple months as they look to fight for yet another possible title this season. Last night, the draw was made and Los Merengues now know who their possible opponents are as they await the game to be played.

Real Madrid will be playing against either Mexico’s Cruz Azul or the Asian Champions (Western Sydney Wanderers VS Saudi Arabia’s Al-Hilal). Therefore, they will be playing the winners of this match, which will be played on December 13.

What Is The Club World Cup?

The Club World Cup is a competition played between the current holder of the host nation’s domestic league (Morocco in this case) and FIFA’s six confederations: UEFA (Europe); CONMEBOL (South America); AFC (Asia); CAF (Africa); CONCACAF (North America, Central America, and the Carribbean); and OFC (Oceania).

Screen shot 2014-10-12 at 3.58.57 PM

Here is the full list of games to be played in the Club World Cup in December:

December 13 – 

1. African Champions (E.S. Setif [Algeria] VS Vita Club [Democratic Republic of Congo]) VS The winner between Auckland City and Moghreb Athletic de Tetouan

2. Cruz Azul [Mexico] VS The Asian Champions (Western Sydney Wanderers VS Al-Hilal [Saudi Arabia])

December 16 – 

1. Winner (Game 2) VS Real Madrid

2. San Lorenzo de Almagro VS Winner (Game 1)

December 20 – 

Third & Fourth Place Playoff

December 20 – 


Screen shot 2014-10-12 at 3.59.18 PM

I know this is a little bit confusing at the moment but things will clear up as the date gets closer and more games are played. Nevertheless, the Club World Cup is an important trophy for the club and they will do everything in their power to be crowned Champions. This will be their first participation in this edition of the tournament (which has been going on for eleven years) but Real Madrid have previously won the Intercontinental Cup on three different occasions in 1960, 1998, and 2002.