As the “will he stay/will he leave” saga goes on with Sergio Ramos, it seems as though Real Madrid are looking for a replacement in case anything ends up progressing.

Recent reports have confirmed that Real Madrid have inquired about the availability of Valencia’s center-back, Shkodran Mustafi, who they believe would be a suitable replacement for Sergio Ramos.

“Right now, I’m on vacation, but who wouldn’t be happy when Real Madrid are interested in you? It proves that I have given a good level of performances this last season. No player would not be cheerful with such links.” was the German’s reply when asked about his feelings on the situation. As for his father, his response was “It is true. There was a phone call from the club about their interest. Madrid are a great club with a superb history of success. Of course, I would be lying if I said that I was not proud of the thought of my son joining the club.”

Mustafi

In my opinion, Mustafi is a great defender and has proven his capabilities with Valencia during the past year. With that said, I believe that another Valencia defender would have been the better choice: Nicolas Otamendi.

Either way, Shkodran Mustafi could be a great recruit for the squad especially when we have players such as Pepe and Raphael Varane as well. If Sergio Ramos stays though (and I really hope that he does!!), then there is no need for Mustafi in the squad really. Either way, we will just have to wait and see!

