Before we begin, it is important to know that FIFA is no longer in charge of the Ballon d’Or as the organizers are now “France Football”. They spent all day yesterday keeping the fans in suspense as they released all 30 nominees for the prestigious prize throughout the whole day.

Now, the names have been released as SIX Real Madrid players have been nominated:

  • Cristiano Ronaldo
  • Toni Kroos
  • Sergio Ramos
  • Pepe
  • Luka Modric
  • Gareth Bale

Now, it still seems as though the winner will be either Cristiano Ronaldo or Lionel Messi but it’s still great to see six of our squad members in that list.

The full list is:

  1. Sergio Aguero (Manchester City)
  2. Pierre-Emerick Aubemayang (Borussia Dortmund)
  3. Gareth Bale (Real Madrid)
  4. Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)
  5. Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
  6. Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
  7. Paulo Dybala (Juventus)
  8. Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid)
  9. Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)
  10. Gonzalo Higuain (Juventus)
  11. Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Manchester United)
  12. Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)
  13. Koke (Atletico Madrid)
  14. Toni Kroos (Real Madrid)
  15. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
  16. Hugo Lloris (Tottenham)
  17. Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City)
  18. Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
  19. Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
  20. Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich)
  21. Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)
  22. Neymar (Barcelona)
  23. Dimitri Payet (West Ham)
  24. Paul Pogba (Manchester United)
  25. Pepe (Real Madrid)
  26. Rui Patricio (Sporting CP)
  27. Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)
  28. Luis Suarez (Barcelona)
  29. Jamie Vardy (Leicester City)
  30. Arturo Vidal (Bayern Munich)