France Football, who are now the people fully in charge of the Ballon d’Or, decided to announce the winner through a countdown as they went from 17th place all the way to first… Well, they skipped a few along the way as they jumped from 6th place to first but it didn’t matter as Cristiano Ronaldo was named the winner for the fourth time in his legendary career!

The Portuguese forward said it himself that 2016 is probably the best of his career, especially after winning the UEFA Champions League with Real Madrid and then the EURO 2016 with the Portugal National Team. There should not have been any debates as to who the winner of the trophy should have been as Cristiano Ronaldo deserved it by a clear mile.

After the announcement, France Football then released videos and pictures of the winner with the trophy, which were all taken before he traveled to Japan with Real Madrid.

Here are some pictures of our champion with his beautiful trophy:


The Full List of the 2016 Ballon d’Or:

17. Toni Kroos (Germany/Real Madrid)
17. Luka Modric (Croatia/Real Madrid)
17. Dmitri Payet (France/West Ham)
16. Robert Lewandowski (Poland/Bayern Munich)
14. Paul Pogba (France/Manchester United)
14. Arturo Vidal (Chile/Bayern Munich)
13. Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden/Manchester United)
12. Rui Patricio (Portugal/Sporting Lisbon)
11. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon/Borussia Dortmund
9. Gianluigi Buffon (Italy/Juventus)
9. Pepe (Portugal/Real Madrid)
8. Jamie Vardy (England/Leicester City)
7. Riyad Mahrez (Algeria/Leicester City)
6. Gareth Bale (Wales/Real Madrid)
5. Neymar (Brazil/Barcelona)
4. Luis Suarez (Uruguay/Barcelona)
3. Antoine Griezmann (France/Atletico Madrid)
2. Lionel Messi (Argentina/Barcelona)
1. Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid)

The players who received zero votes from the Top 30 List that was released by France Football:

Sergio Aguero
Kevin De Bruyne
Paulo Dybala
Diego Godin
Gonzalo Higuain
Andres Iniesta
Hugo Lloris
Thomas Muller
Manuer Neuer
Sergio Ramos